Windows Media Player 10, CD Burning Problem

Jakesmom 02:46 05 Jan 2006

Hello all. I am new to this and have a lot to learn. I have been successfully burning music to cd using WMP10. All of a sudden it stops burning cd's. I get error message C00D11AB and sometimes C00D11CD. I can play a cd in WMP10, but it won't burn a cd. But I also cannot burn a data cd or any kind, even thru the Oper. System. Sometimes the CD-RW Drive tray hangs and I have to restart the computer to get it to open so I can get the cd out. I have looked through hundreds of Microsoft's help articles and newsgroups and tried all their solutions, but none work. I don't even know if I have a hardware problem with the CD-RW Drive or a software problem with WMP10. or both. Any help you can supply would be appreciated. My operating system is Windows XP, SP2. Thanks.

Skyver 03:00 05 Jan 2006

Can you open your machine (switched off) and check all cables and connections are secure?
Does the drive read data CDs as well as audio CDs properly?

Jakesmom 04:56 05 Jan 2006

Skyver, Thank you for your response. I have already checked the cables and connections, and also the drive does read data cd's as well as audio cd's. The media player seems to go through the whole burning process, inspecting, converting, etc. and says "Burning In Progress" but when it gets to the point where the cd is ususally ejected automatically and "Burn Complete" usually shows up, I get the error message C00D11AB. I have also gotten the latest updates and latest drivers. I don't know a lot about these things, but do you suppose there is some kind of setting that has gotten messed up that would allow the media player to communicate with the Cd-RW Drive? I checked the CD-RW Drive properties and cd burning is enabled on that drive. Any more ideas would be apprecited. Thanks.

AndySD 05:27 05 Jan 2006

Microsofts help on this error click here

Are you using a different brand of CDR than before?