Windows Installer problem

Esc4p3 20:33 01 Oct 2008

I use a Guitar tuition program called Music Coach. I installed this program (on Vista) last year and it has run fine ever since. About a week ago my wife complained of an error message that kept appearing when she logged on. We have 2 user accounts one for me, one for her. On my account everything was dandy, I could launch and use the program.

But on her account there is a Windows Installer error that says "The feature you are trying to use is on a network resource that is unavailable". It then points to a folder called c:\users\wifename\appdata\local\temp\_isE2D5, and there is no such folder/subfolder as appdata. I do not understand this as if I run the program from my wifes account (and I have never done this before) it runs fine, but the error message is a real nuisance.

Can anyone please help, thanks Carl.

gary2112 21:11 01 Oct 2008

click on my computer then tools then click on folder options then view then click on show all hiden files then do a seach and see if you can find that file.if you do you must load windows into safe mode to remove this as windows will be useing this file.deleat the file do a full virus and spywere scan in safe mode of winows .becouse the problem is that most trojen and virus

Covergirl 22:03 01 Oct 2008

. . . which you can see if you "show hidden files and folders" through Tools, Folder Options in My Computer or Windows Explorer.

I get this type of message when a network drive share has been removed or renamed by system admin and it can't be found where the shortcut says it is.

If you can copy your shortcut which works to your wifes profile (possibly through admin login) and delete your wifes shortcut, you might find it works without the error message.

Anyone else any suggestions ?

Esc4p3 08:58 02 Oct 2008