Windows 7 upgrade sticks at 60% of last step

cliffoa 11:25 19 Oct 2010

Hi
I've been running vista on my laptop for the last 3 years, putting up with the proverbial freezes, slowdowns and general instability, and have finally decided to upgrade to 7. I decided on the 'upgrade' rather than clean install as I thought that would be easier. Ha.

I left it upgrading and went to bed last night, but when i got up this morning i found it had stuck at 60% of the final stage, 'Transferring files, setting and programs'(334393 of 472944 transferred).

Looks like i don't have any alternative to switching the power off. Will that roll me back to my old vista, and does anyone have any solutions for completing the upgrade? I'd do the clean install but I was worried about losing drivers and stuff, and rendering my laptop unusable by a full clean install.

Regarding a clean install, I'm not actually that bothered about all the programmes and settings if I lost those, as I could reinstall the ones I needed, and to be honest I could probably do with clearing a lot of accumulated crap off my laptop, but, as I say, I'm worried that a full install will wipe out drivers or other important stuff. Or are my fears misplaced?

I've looked online but can't find a nailed on solution for cracking the 60% upgrade crash. So any advice would be gratefully received. Don't you just love microsoft, they throw these things out there, charge a fortune for them, and when they fall over they just leave you to work it out for yourself. Wish I had a quid for everyone who'd ever said that.

(In case anyone is wondering, I'm using an alternative netbook to post this. My laptop is still locked up at 60% of the upgrade)

Thanks in advance for any useful advice guys.

BRYNIT 11:47 19 Oct 2010