Will a webcam do this?

andy625 19:37 03 May 2006

I need to record a training session onto a digital video file. I've never used a webcam before, but can anyone tell me whether it would be possible to use a webcam + suitable software to record sound and video in a quality good enough to show full screen on a laptop, with good sound quality also?

If so, what spec would I be looking for for the webcam? ie megapixels? and what software would I need to record?

Last question - would it be possible to have the laptop recording the sound/video minimised in the background, whilst the delegate is running a powerpoint presentation?

anskyber 20:18 03 May 2006

Many webcams come with their own recording software. I have a Logitech pro 4000 which allows a recording and I can send it via e-mail or of course use it in a Messenger setting like MSN Messenger or Skype. But, while the quality is very good for that sort of environment but I suspect it will not be good enough for your intended purpose. Webcams are relatively cheap so you may wish to experiment with one first. I would expect you to conclude that an inexpensive digital video cam will serve your purpose much better.

Yes you should be able to record to a laptop almost certainly using the bundled software with the video cam. The issue will be is your particular laptop speced up enough to do it?

Stuartli 21:12 03 May 2006

The maximum resolution of the majority of webcams is 640x480 - there is normally no real reason for it to be any higher for its intended purpose.

Stuartli 21:12 03 May 2006

If you have a digital camera these can often be used as webcams - the quality would be far superior.

andy625 21:14 03 May 2006

My laptop is a 1G IBM Thinkpad with XP, and 40Gb hard drive with 22Gb space.

Will a webcam give a quality of recording on a par with that of an average digital video camera?

andy625 21:16 03 May 2006