Who is this IP:

  Newuser1328 19:45 20 Feb 2004

Zone Alarm warns me on startup of:
Destination IP:
Filename: ginst_001_1234_4201.exe
Hoe can one identify what this refers to?
Many thanks. Dan.

  Paranoid Android 19:54 20 Feb 2004

If you hit More Info when the alert box comes up, you can select the tab for Hacker Id and do a WhoIs search.

(ZA Pro)


  dewskit 19:57 20 Feb 2004

Seems to be in California - possibly exodus.net if this means anything to you!


  Newuser1328 20:37 20 Feb 2004

Many thanks.
Yes 'dewskit' that's a good clue!

  cycoze 22:03 20 Feb 2004

Results of a whois will give you -

network:Organization;I:The Gator Corporation
network:Street;I:2000 Bridge Parkway, Suite 100

A simple google search on `The Gator Corporation`(gator says it all)will bring you plenty of results about this company and their wares , adware/spyware.

ginst_001_1234_4201.exe , is adware from claria/gator , see click here ,you will find manual removal instructions on this page.

  cycoze 22:17 20 Feb 2004

It may be prudent to download install and update/run Ad-aware (free version) from click here , also Spybot-S&D(also free) from click here .

Keep up to date with Windows patches etc.

This thread is now locked and can not be replied to.

Elsewhere on IDG sites

The Evil Within 2 review-in-progress

Photoshop CC 2018 released with new Curvature Pen and better brush tools

Camera tips to take better iPhone photos

Les meilleures applications de covoiturage 2017