which web host (UK based please)

judivb1 17:02 15 Oct 2007

I'm very new to all this. I have just taken over management of the site for Severnside Institute for Psychotherapy. I have had dreadful problems with the folk who set it up and then hosted it. I want to change to a new web host. This will be the first time I've had direct dealing with a web host, and am very nervous about it, as that side of the web is verging on incomprehensible to me. I've done various searches for reviews and forum comments, and - of course - been frustrated by the different views on different hosts. I know some of you have already replied to a similar question before, but here goes -
Here's the list of hosts I've come up with to try, and hope for any experienced comments on these ...
Webhosting UK, Netweaver, Wiser Hosting, 1and1, Dataflame. Obviously customer support in basic language is vital to me! In case it's relevant, I use Dreamweaver CS3.
Judi

CodeMeister 20:17 15 Oct 2007

Hi judivb1,

First of all, it would help if you mentioned the type of hosting that you are looking for (e.g. Linux/PHP, Windows/ASP, Shared Server or Dedicated Server).

If it's PHP/MySQL that you are looking to host then Heart Internet look quite good and I believe that the Forum Editor is a reseller for Heart Internet.

Heart Internet have just introduced a Domain Privacy service as well, which looks interesting.

Have a look at the ISPA Awards website (see link below) for an independent opinion.

click here

As I said, it all depends on what you need to host, but consider the following:-

Zen click here

Eclipse click here

UK Fast click here

EHosting click here

Orchard click here

judivb1 10:23 16 Oct 2007

That was very helpful, thanks.

The site won't involve selling and will have fairly low traffic, so I'm looking at a shared server.

Eventually I want an enquiry form, and probably a search (from a name/area database). I don't need Flash.