Which Laptop works with Dragon Naturally Speaking Premium 12.5 Dictation Software?

SandyNathan 20:04 10 May 2014

Hi. I have been a Mac user my entire computer life. I'm an author with 6 or so books in print; I spend a lot of time at a computer. As a result, my shoulders, wrists, and hands hurt a lot and are getting worse. I need to switch to dictation software. According to all the reviews, the Dragon software noted in the title is the best. I'll be buying it, and soon, while I can still move my arms.

The problem is: which PC? PCAdvisor's review stated the Dragon computer specs as: PC: Windows XP SP3 (32 bit only)/Vista SP2/7/8, 32/64 bit, 2.2GHz Intel or AMD dual core with 2MB L2 cache), 2GB (32 bit) 4GB (64 bit) RAM, 3.2GB HD, internet connection.

I can get some of that: I need an internet connection, stuff about memory. But what about the rest of it? I'm in California. I'll probably buy from Costco, a giant warehouse that has great prices and superb return and customer service policies. The specs I have seen in the US look like this:

HP ENVY 15t Quad Laptop | Intel Core i7 | Backlit Keyboard

Processor & Memory:

4th generation Intel® Core™ i7-4700MQ 2.4GHz
16GB DDR3 System Memory (2 Dimm)

Drives:

1TB 5400RPM Hard Drive
No Internal DVD or CD Drive

Operating System:

Microsoft® Windows 8.1 (64-bit)

Graphics & Video:

15.6-inch diagonal HD BrightView LED-backlit Display (1366x768)
Intel HD Graphics

Communications:

802.11b/g/n WLAN
Integrated 10/100/1000 Gigabit Ethernet LAN (RJ-45 connector)  
HP TrueVision HD Webcam with Integrated Digital Microphone

Audio:

Beats™ audio

Keyboard:

Backlit Keyboard

Ports:

4x SuperSpeed USB 3.0
1x HDMI
1x Headphone out/ Microphone-in combo jack
Multi-Format Digital Media Card Reader

Power Supply:

6-Cell Lithium-Ion Battery
65W AC adaptor

That seems pretty comprehensive, but doesn't say things like: PC: Windows XP SP3 (32 bit only)/Vista SP2/7/8, 32/64 bit, 2.2GHz Intel or AMD dual core