Which dvd disks

jaraba 05:58 22 Jan 2009

My laptop has a 8 X DVD-Super Multi double-layer drive.
Which disks can I use in it.
Never burned dvds before so complete novice at this.
Reason for question
Want to burn a backup of my system & it tells me I need 2 dvd disks

mooly 08:00 22 Jan 2009

Hi, my advice for what it's worth is to forget using DVD's as a backup, they are just to messy and prone to problems. They are OK to create a recovery disc --- many laptops ask you to burn these immediately, but for backing up data-- documents pictures etc use a flash memory stick or SD card. If your lappy hasn't an image backup program supplied with it consider Acronis true image (Amazon). Best investment you can make, you will never worry again about messing anything up and having to reinstall and is worth it's weight in gold. Although not ideal, I store my image backups on the laptop HDD accepting that if it were to fail I would have to reinstall the whole operating system. Must get round to cloning a spare sometime.

mooly 08:01 22 Jan 2009

Click resources and then tutorials, it's much easier when you do it for real.
click here

jaraba 11:18 22 Jan 2009

The program suplied on the laptop is "NTi Now 5".
The paper work that came with the laptop recommended that I at least made a back up of the OS setup

mooly 18:46 22 Jan 2009

Not familiar with the NTI program. It's sound advice to back up the OS but that only takes you back to how it was when new. What you want IMO is a running backup, which the NTI prog may do, so that if you "totally wreck" it today you can just go back to how it was when you made the last backup, which keeps all your applications drivers... everything. I do that and backup to the D partition starting new monthly incremental backups and adding to them every 3 or 4 days. So I am never more than that time away from a complete restore.

gazzaho 02:18 23 Jan 2009