Which is the best web design software for an total beginner?!

krl103 14:48 23 Jul 2014

Help!

My Dad has asked me to build him a website for his company...... apparently this is something I should know how to do, but I do not! He is offering to buy some software so I can do it....... folks - what is the best software for someone who is a completely beginner.

I had a play around with moonfruits and that was ok-ish, but with a bought software I assume I will be able to do something better?!

Any advice is sooo appreciated, Kate :)

Ian in Northampton 15:27 23 Jul 2014

I can't help you build it from scratch - way beyond my understanding - but we recently wanted to create a web site (for our holiday rental place in Italy) and used GoDaddy both for the site design and hosting. We also bought their SEO service. I think it cost us £69 for a year. GoDaddy's underlying 'stuff' is WordPress. I really liked what GoDaddy provided me. They provide you with a gazillion templates according to the type of web site you want - but if you're at all PC savvy, you'll quickly find that the templates are just a starting point and that you have a huge amount of flexibility to do as you wish. Now, if your dad wants e-commerce capability, it may get a bit trickier...

Usual disclaimer re affiliation - just a satisfied customer.

Ian in Northampton 15:58 23 Jul 2014

I should have said, btw - there are plenty of alternatives similar to GoDaddy's "web sites for beginners" approach - you may want to do some research. Of course, if you actually want to learn the skills involved in creating a web site from the ground up, this kind of thing is no good - but if you're looking for something 'quick and dirty'...