What should I look at to get an up to date Laptop?

master archer 09:55 25 Jan 2005

Hi
I am looking to replace my 15" with a 17" Laptop, I favour the Sony Vaio 17" at the moment but a bit confused over the proccessor available, I see that they are either 1.7 or 1.8 where as some other makes are offering 3.0 and 3.2 proccessors, why are is there so much diffence in proccessor size.
What should I be looking at to get an up to date Laptop?

Magik ®© 10:26 25 Jan 2005

In the pca review they rated the Rock Quaddra Ti the best laptop money can buy, and they were not wrong..so if you want a good one, thats the one to get, it does all you will ever need..and 3 year warranty....

brambles 12:23 25 Jan 2005

Dell do a Inspiron 9200 Centrino Pentium M 1.8 Ghz. which is very good.

I'm not an expert but the higher rate 3 & 3.2 Ghz. you mention are for Intel Pentium 4 processors.

The 1.7 & 1.8 Mhz. are the Centrino Pentium M which I understand are the best for mobiles.

Someone will help me out here but I think a Centrino 1.8 Mhz. is better than a Pentium 4....

Brambles

wiz-king 13:23 25 Jan 2005

Anything in the computer market is out of date by the time that you have made up your mind to buy it. Just choose one for the job in hand; word processing,games or video editing. They all need a different design -- and eat batteries to a different degree, if it eats batteries fast that means heat so your lap will get cooked.

toni b 15:01 25 Jan 2005