Website for a charity

User-CB94CED6-F3AA-42E7-8A286564F5DCBC14 08:47 04 Nov 2006

I am an amateur web designer and have offered to upgrade a website for a local charity. The existing site is frontpage and bursting at the seams.

They are prepared to purchase some dev software e.g. studio 8 so that's one way to go perhaps with an open source CSS template. I think, due to the size of the site and its future expansion requirements that it will need a CMS arrangement trouble is this is a learning exercise for me and want to avoid direct coding of PHP etc. The design of the DB will be a big enough task!

My thoughts are:

1. is there another way to go about this - like just get a hosting with the software supplied to develope pages that way. But I do not think I will get CMS this way?

2. Looking at wysiwyg CMS (e.g. joomla) they seem to build with tables and I want xhtml (strict) and CSS with lots of accessibility conformance. Is this the way to go?

3. Or start of with Dreamweaver (using Contribute and Flashpaper as part of the package) and a good template?

Oh, yes another requirement is that staff can make save updates to content.

Any advice appreciated.

RicScott 10:49 04 Nov 2006

Use the CSS and XHTML for the main layout and then just use the tables for search results etc..keep it lighter, rather than full of tables..
You can actually place php content within the CSS boxes.
just opt for the <?PHP echo $pageheader; ?>
option etc. That's what I'm doing on my latest project..I'd link it but it's still in testing stage..

If you build the database in MySql, just download an app like PHPrunner or PHP maker and that will build the CMS for you to match your DB..

HighTower 15:52 21 Nov 2006

If you are getting a copy of Dreamweaver why not see what Web Assist have to offer. Haven't used Site Assist before but it may be useful to you.

Not particularly cheap but maybe worth a look.

click here

PurplePenny 23:18 29 Nov 2006

... it can't be a very demanding site