Webcam microphone won't work

Pineman100 15:13 24 Feb 2009

I run XP SP3.

I've had all kinds of webcam problems over the past two days. First bought a Logitech USB webcam, which wouldn't install, despite three long calls to Logitech's support desk. They finally gave up, saying there's a driver conflict "somewhere".

So I exchanged it for a USB Microsoft Lifecam VX-1000 webcam, with built-in microphone.

The drivers wouldn't install automatically from the CD, but I finally managed to point the Hardware Wizard to them manually.

I now have fully functioning video, but the built-in microphone steadfastly refuses to work. A separate mic plugged into the jack socket on the back of the computer works fine - but zilch from the webcam mic.

My sound device is Realtek AC97 Audio (which I presume is a basic on-board device). I've considered checking for any updated drivers for it, but the Realtek site has this warning statement: click here.

As I'm not experienced at updating device drivers or codecs, I'm not sure what to do. And actually I don't know whether updating drivers would actually solve this problem.

Any ideas or advice would be gratefully received.

Pineman100 15:20 24 Feb 2009

my speakers are working fine.

oldbeefer2 15:26 24 Feb 2009

My confuser has the AC97 and I use a Logitech webcam with no problems. Do you use Skype - if so, what happens when you test the camera using the Skype link?

PO79 15:28 24 Feb 2009

Try going to Control Panel\Sounds and Audio Devices\Voice tab and selecting your webcam mike as the default device in the drop downs.

aitch2 15:48 24 Feb 2009

If you are using Skype, then Skype4 beta was for me unstable. Update to Skype4-Full, should cure the problem. However, in Skype4-Full go to Tools/options/choose Audio Settings and you can click on your webcam details from there as well as setting levels etc.
Aitch

Pineman100 16:32 24 Feb 2009

oldbeefer2 - yes, I use Skype, but the webcam mic won't work on a Skype test, either.