Watch pictures from pc on tv

tonyx1302 09:22 12 Sep 2008

I have downloaded pictures from my camera to a folder in my docs on my laptop and would like to view them on our tv. Is it easy to do this and if so how please? I am not technically minded so simple instructions would be very helpful.

I have a Acer laptop with XP and SP2.

Many thanks in anticipation
Tony

crosstrainer 09:31 12 Sep 2008

If your laptop has a VGA (monitor) output on the rear (make and model will help us here) AND, your TV has a VGA Input, then you can connect a cable from the lappy to the televsion.

Before buying such a cable, check that your laptop and TV have the required connections.

Cables:

click here

Fruit Bat /\0/\ 09:33 12 Sep 2008

How you connect the laptop to the TV will depend on what type of ports are available on both the TV and the Acer laptop.

Most TVs will have a minimum of scart and RCA (AV) inputs.

Your laptop will have at least a VGA output and speaker output and maybe a S Video output.

tonyx1302 09:44 12 Sep 2008

I'm confused.com already!!! Sorry I don't know if my laptop has a VGA or not but I have checked the back of my tv and there is a conglomerate of empty push in connections and one unused scart connection avail.
My tv is a Sony KZ-32TS1E and my laptop is an Acer Aspire 3633WLMi
Thanks for coming back

Tony

tonyx1302 09:57 12 Sep 2008

Sorry to appear so stupid but I have just Googled VGA and I have a VGA plug on my laptop but not that I can see, on my tv.
Can I get a cable that goes from the VGA on my pc to the scart connection on the tv. Would that work?

Tony

crosstrainer 10:02 12 Sep 2008

Your laptop has a VGA connector: (see list below)

Interfaces:

3 x Hi-Speed USB - 4 PIN USB Type A
1 x modem - phone line - RJ-11
1 x network - Ethernet 10Base-T/100Base-TX - RJ-45
1 x display / video - VGA - 15 pin HD D-Sub (HD-15)
1 x audio - line-out/headphones - mini-phone 3.5mm