Vista Locked Files

sibaw 09:13 15 Jul 2007

I am new to Vista. All the Directories on my hard drive and external drives have the "read only" boxes checked. I can un-check then when I go back they are automatically checked again.

Since this is all files some software will not run because of locked files and my documents come up as read only.

I have tried system restore to a time when I knew the computer was OK but to not avail. They still remain read only.

rawprawn 10:19 15 Jul 2007

Try turning the user account control off. Go to Start/Control Panel/ User accounts and Turn user accout off. You will get a security warning in the system tray which you can turn off. If you are a sole user for you computer there is no need for user account control.

Reb 12:02 15 Jul 2007

there is a current thread on this forum & there is info on windows vista forum cos you will probablly need to do more than switch the user account control off

anskyber 12:06 15 Jul 2007
  sibaw 13:23 15 Jul 2007

Thanks,

I already tried turning the UAC off but that did not work, I've tried system restore way back, I have tried copying back the files from backup. But all folders still remain locked. On some such as C:\program\common files I get a "access denied" message, but even when it appears to have cleared the "read only" check box, when I close the property tab and re-open the read only tag is still there.

Thanks for all your help, I can't find anything on the Vista Site to help either

rawprawn 13:54 15 Jul 2007

Have you tried the link anskyber posted? He gave me it a while ago and I have found it very useful

Reb 14:11 15 Jul 2007

I dont know if you will be able to download & install the take ownership thing yet - try right clicking the file & running as admin does sometimes work.