Virgin Cable network setup problems

deemac 11:02 06 Oct 2010

Laptop: Sony VAIO PCG-7183M
Windows version - Windows 7 Home Premium OA
Router model - Newlink Wireless 11n 300 Mbps Access Point Router.MAC 001EE3EFAB50 (bought via Amazon described as 'VIRGIN CABLE ROUTER')

I'm trying to setup the wireless router on my daughter's computer, but I'm new to Windows 7 (OK with XP) and although I can see an un-named (and unprotected) connection that I take to be mine, the link fails and wireless manager shows a red X on the status. I would also expect to be taken to a setup page for the router, to set security etc, but don’t get that option. I can get on the internet via the wired connection, and so far I’ve resisted the temptation to try the Virgin wireless install CD.

Thanks for taking the time to read about my problem, and I’d really appreciate any suggestions anyone can offer.

mgmcc 12:38 06 Oct 2010

>>> I would also expect to be taken to a setup page
>>> for the router, to set security etc, but don’t
>>> get that option. I can get on the internet via
>>> the wired connection,

Configuration of the router's wireless settings should be carried out using a computer connected by ethernet cable, *NOT* wirelessly. You should be able to access the router's setup pages by typing its IP address into your web browser. If you don't know its IP address, run IPCONFIG /ALL in a Command Prompt window and look for the Default Gateway address - that's the router's IP address. Go to "Start > Run", type in...

cmd.exe /k ipconfig /all

...and click OK.

I'd suggest that you change the router's default SSID (network name) to something more recognisable to you when the PC looks for Available Wireless Networks.

>>> and so far I’ve resisted the temptation to try the Virgin wireless install CD.

There shouldn't be a need to run any CD and, if the router came from Amazon, certainly not a Virgin CD.

Post back if you need further help.

deemac 16:46 07 Oct 2010