VIRGIN BROADBAND - BT VOYAGER 190 ADSL MODEM

Chooper 16:55 22 Oct 2006

HI, I'm a bit new to this computing lark and looking for some help.

I have virgin broadband and used to have a USB speedtouch modem, this broke and I have being given a BT VOYAGER 190 ADSL ethernet modem by a friend, who got it when he signed up with AOL.

I have connected the modem via all the correct connections provided, but cannot connect to Virgin with it all. Could it me something to do with the fact this came from a AOL broadband silver pack. I have not used any of the software in the box as this is specifically for AOL.

I have managed to borrow a voyater 240 ADSL modem/router and this connects up fine. This was just bought from a computer shop and not provided by any other broadband supplier.

I have spoken to virgin support and they say it should not be a problem running an ethernet bt voyager modem, but just to ensure that I have the most upto date drivers downloaded. I didn't realise the ethernet modems required drivers.

Any assistance is greatly appreciated.

Many thanks

Chooper 16:57 22 Oct 2006

The operating system I am running is XP home.

Fingees 19:12 22 Oct 2006

It may be worthwhile contacting BT internet via Email or phone.

I know some ISPs lock their modems to their own broadband.

Freeserve used to, and it had to be unlocked by them over the line, before it could be used by another ISP

It's just a thought

wobblymike 20:44 22 Oct 2006

If you go into the configuration set up for the modem (for BT modems you normally enter 192.168.1.1 in the address bar - but you will need to confirm this address)and enter your user name and password then hit connect it will either connect or tell you it cant for whatever reason, which could be it is locked to BT as mentioned earlier.

wobblymike 20:46 22 Oct 2006