VHS to VCD

busybaz 16:59 10 Sep 2003

Wanting to transfer a deteriorating VHS tape to VCD - where to start? Do I connect VCR to S-Video In on my graphics card via a)RF Out or b)separate Video & Audio Out connections? Graphics card is NVIDIA GeForce4 MX440 & VCR is a Matsui old banger with video & audio jacks (no SCART).

Is there a web site out there on this subject with a guide for absolute beginners that does not assume a knowledge of the jargon used? Have searched in vain & not found a site yet that does not have me cross-eyed within minutes!!!!

Chegs ® 17:03 10 Sep 2003

click here Have a look down the leftside list,see if anything there grabs your attention.

busybaz 18:58 10 Sep 2003

Thanks Chegs, already got this one mapped but it doesn't tell me how to commence i.e. how to connect & with what!

Qmar 20:48 10 Sep 2003

IMHO- get the harware ( ie a tv card or other device ) or get it done professionally.

Qmar 20:51 10 Sep 2003

or get hold of a friend who has a modern camcorder that you can 'record' your VHS tape to via a Video-player,. Then send this DV file to a pc for burning.

Ping Pong 22:26 10 Sep 2003

If your tape is deteriorating the first thing to do is stabilise what you've got. Both Photo Optix and Jessops offer a video copying service via IC video where you can get a dvd made.
click here
click here
click here
If it is only the one tape that you want copying then visit your local photo/video store as mentioned above and remember they cannot duplicate copyrighted stuff without written consent from the copyright holder. That means if it is a family movie shot by you on a home camcorder then you are the copyright holder. If the video was commercially produced then you will need to seek permission from the copyright holder first.

If you have a half decent computer you could attempt this yourself at home.
Belkin do a lead with software for circa £80 which will allow you to pull video to PC.

Chegs ® 22:30 10 Sep 2003