utilities for laptop performance

crespo 00:52 29 Jul 2006

Hey all! This is Crespo calling. I would like some advice as to the best pc performance/tweaking utilities to keep my laptop in optimum condition. I buy quite a few of the computer mags & have a plethora of free dvd's with said tools e.g. Ashampoo Winoptimizer, Winboost, Crashdoctor etc. Can anyone out there recommend a decent tool for my purpose? I'm a newbie & all these options just confuse me!As always any help will be v. appreciated. Cheers. C.

GANDALF <|:-)> 05:58 29 Jul 2006

Ccleaner from click here (in the setting-windows, make sure you tick 'hotfix uninstallers'.). Regseeker from click here These two togehter will sort out all your computer and they are free! Ther is no point in going OTT and you shouldn't need anything else.

G

gel 07:19 29 Jul 2006

Hi
How do Ccleaner and Regseeker compare with ad aware and spy bot ?
Cheers
gel

Sethhaniel 07:28 29 Jul 2006

clean broken shortcuts and parts of programs left behind when uninstalled - fix registry errors--------

ad aware and spy bot -

remove the said adware and spyware that are put on our computers

so two different kettles off fish ;)

GANDALF <|:-)> 08:11 29 Jul 2006

All you need are the two cleaners above to keep your computer free of clutter, AVG or Avast for virus protection, windows defender for real-time 'malware' protection and spybot or Adaware as a backup. All of these are free.

With the money saved buy an external hard disk for backup purposes and this will be of much more use than fannying about with loads of 'protection'.

G

gel 15:58 29 Jul 2006

Hi Ccleaner very good thanks GANDALF<l:-)>.
Is Windows Defender compatible with Zone Alarm?
gel

Fruit Bat /\0/\ 16:12 29 Jul 2006

Is Windows Defender compatible with Zone Alarm?

Yes just set the allow permission when ZA asks.

woodchip 16:20 29 Jul 2006