USB port problem

gazmo4 23:04 01 Mar 2007

I am quite new to computers,like many i just switch it on and hope all goes well. Until last week all did go well but then my two year old Mesh went on the blink. To be precise the two front usb ports suddenly packed up while i had a WIFI adapter in one port and my Ipod adapter in the other.
I tried the adapters in another computer and they work fine,the WIFI adapter also works ok in the rear USB ports.
The odd thing is that the Ipod adapter has now started working in the front ports again and if i connect a pen drive it lights for a second then stops again.
I contacted the people at Mesh computer and they suggested removing and reinstalling the Universal serial bus controllers. I've tried this a couple of times now but it hasn't helped and now Mesh haven't replied again.(so much for aftersales help)
I've scanned the forums for advice and would like to know if anyone got any ideas that i could try next.I know i could just use the rear ports but i would like to restore full use to the front ports again if possible.
Thanks for your time.
Gazmo4

kane_2001 23:41 01 Mar 2007

I had the same problem but got it resolved, my front usb ports were "sticking". sometimes they would work, other times they wouldnt. I opened my PC case and made sure that the connections were tight and they were but when I inserted and wiggled my bluetooth dongle, it worked fine. found out afterwards I had been trying to push the USB`s in too hard ( not saying that you have ) and I had dislodged the connection ports. Have a try at that otherwise, make sure that the USB ports are clean from dust ( sounds silly but trust me it causes probs ).

Hope this helps

gazmo4 23:50 01 Mar 2007

Hi Kane_2001,
Thanks for the advice, you may be right with the idea of dislodging the connections. I will open the case up tomorrow and let you know how i get on.Fingers crossed.
Cheers
Gazmo4

Fruit Bat /\0/\ 12:54 02 Mar 2007

Refresh USB Ports