Upgraing sec. of computer

Matt.tt 19:02 12 May 2007

Hi,
I have an 8 year old computer which I added some ram to and for the last 2 years, have used as a host computer/server. It Does not actually run any server os, but I use it to host websites, emails, shared resources, printers, (last to are on my own private network) and so on.

I realised that it is slowly grounding to a halt. It does not get very heavy usage, but it is getting more and more as I do more with it.

It currently grinds through with a old AB-BH6 motherboard,
327,224 kb ram. I am not sure about the processor. and runs windows 2000pro

I am a bit of a novice when in comes to upgrading computers but I want to be able 2 do it!

Could anyone tell me what they think of my suggestions below, and /or what I would be best off doing to upgrade it. I do not need much more power, but I do need some speed.

1. To just get a load more ram. Can you put too much ram in a computer?

2. Buy a motherboard and processor bundle from somewhere. If I do this, can I put the old graphics card, cpu, e.t.c back into it, or will old things like what i just mentioned no longer be supported by the newer motherboard.

Finally Whatever happens I need to buy a new psu (as the current one is very noisy and can make sparks!) and more Hard drive space. Do you think I am best of using IDE for this?

Sorry there is a lot in this posting, but I though id do it all in one go.

Any help is much appreciated.
Many thanks

Matt

MAJ 19:13 12 May 2007

The problem with getting more RAM is that your RAM is probably the older SDRAM PC100 or PC133. That type of RAM is getting prohibitely expensive as manufacturers no longer make it in any great quantity. Your best bet is to go for a new motherboard bundle, something like this, for example. click here

MAJ 19:14 12 May 2007

prohibitely = prohibitively (I think)

Technotiger 19:15 12 May 2007