Upgrading with anexternal hard drive

zaptone 13:16 29 Jun 2003

Help!!!! I'm afraid I'm a bit of a novice when it comes to computers. My compaq presario desk top has only 4gb capacity so I went and bought a freecom EXTERNAL hd but, although the system acknowledges it's there {Fhd1} I still get "low disc space" messages and am nearly up to 4gb storage. I've wiped off as many unnecessary programmes as I can; SURELY if I've connected a 60 GB hd there must be a way to resolve this problem? What am I doing wrong??? Please HELP!!!!

DieSse 13:23 29 Jun 2003

The system will not automatically know to use the new drive, and will continu to use the old drive, unless you explicitly tell it differently when you save data, load a program, etc.

What you have done is , unfortunately, the simplest way to upgrade your storage, but the most complcated to setup to use the extra storage.

You should be looking to transfer data and programs over to your new drive, as appropriate, but bear in mind it will be substantially slower than your existing drive.

Ironman556 13:35 29 Jun 2003

What Windows version are you using?

I think it may be because programs are still trying to write to the 4GB drive. Try running the disk cleanup to clear out any temporary files.

Is it all installed properly?

Go to My Computer and check the drive is listed. Then check the capacity (size Windows thinks the drive is) avaliable by right clicking on the drive and selecting the properties, it will probably display 55Gb, but don't wory about that if it does, it's top do with the way manufacturer's calculate sizes (If you want an explanation post back).

Go to Control Panel, then to System, and look to see if there are yellow triangles by any of the devices. Post back anything you find there.

If you had software that came with the drive then installing it may help windows to see the full capacity if it's 98 or older.