Upgrade the CPU

theearlofsabden 13:29 18 Jan 2009

Hello

I've never done this or anything like it before.... but I want to replace my Pentium 4 processor with an AMD Athlon 64 X2 4200+ / 2.2 GHz processor.

I have a Shuttle PC (tiny shoe box size)

I was wondering if I need to do anything with the Motherboard, or is it (I suspect not) as simple as to just take out the old and insert the new processor?

Would anyone consider the above CPU at 34.44 to be a good price?

OOO Yea.... Currently I can only insert no more than 1Gig of Ram....... If I insert this new CPU could I increase this (Motherboard issue I methioned)

Thanks
Neil.

Any help/guidance/workshop would be greatly recieved.

For great prices on all things PC visit click here

MAJ 13:37 18 Jan 2009

How can someone who knows so little about computing advertise a site purporting to have "great prices on all things PC". How do you know?

canarieslover 13:40 18 Jan 2009

You won't be able to put an AMD processor in an Intel socket. Very doubtful whether you will be able to get a different motherboard to fit Shuttle case so you will be limited to whichever Intel processor is the maximum that the board will take.

ambra4 14:49 18 Jan 2009

First you have to know the motherboard make and type that is in the Shuttle PC

Once you know the motherboard make and type go the manufacture web site and check what CPU the motherboard will support

Download SIW and run it will tell you all the hardware installed in the box

click here

theearlofsabden 15:52 18 Jan 2009

Thanks - I will check the Motherboard with SIW

Regards
Neil.

3gboosterman 16:10 18 Jan 2009

Why not invest in a budget base unit which will be a complete upgrade and better than what you have?
Depending on what you use your pc for, In my own personal opinion i wouldn't spend money on upgrading it.

For a start, you can't even upgrade to 2gb Ram and I guess you might even have built in onboard graphics and sound.