Updating drivers

Bourbon Rovers 08:36 12 Jan 2004

I have just subscribed to Driver Detective v4.0 and found out that half of my drivers need updating. I downloaded the latest one for nVidia GEForce 4200 Ti but don't know what to do next. I have tried running the application with and without the anti-virus disabled - although I did download the 8.6mB file with Download Express on my modem to save time. I later found out from the Nvidia tips page that the recommendation is that I disable Download Accelerators. Could this have influenced the situation adversely?

Do you have any general tips about how to update drivers? As you can tell I am a novice...

Jester2K 08:46 12 Jan 2004

"I have tried running the application with and without the anti-virus disabled "

Go on, don't keep us guessing.... What does or doesn't happen after that??

the usual way is to download from click here

Then Uninstall the old driver in Control panel, Add / Remove Programs, Reboot, Allow Windows to install VGA Driver, Disable Anti Virus, install new drivers, reboot.

Bourbon Rovers 09:00 12 Jan 2004

Well after clicking download and waiting for an hour or so I basically did the same as your suggestion except that my pc rebooted, recognised new hardware (sic) and automatically updated itself (I'm not sure what it was doing). So I looked for the recent download in my received files and clicked on the application. That is when I got the DOS-like message. I get the same flash of the display with and without the antivirus disabled.

So I have an application on my pc and need to install the updated driver but don't know what to do next.

I tried reinstalling the original nVidia driver but when I looked through my CD ROMS it wasn't there. Do PC manufacturers normally install graphics cards and drivers but not supply the original disk? It seems a bit odd if they do.

helmetshine 09:35 12 Jan 2004