Unwanted window at startup

cwtherapy 14:22 26 Oct 2006

At startup a window appears saying it is attempting to access a site (which I have now blocked with my IE settings). This site used to send me a bill for visiting a website I have no knowledge of.

The window at startup keeps on returning for about 2 minutes if I attempt to close it down.

I have run AVG antispyware, Spybot and adware without success. Advice welcome

Chris

recap 14:31 26 Oct 2006

Make a note of the program, open regedit, do a search for the program and delete any registry entries. BACKING UP the registry first.

To open regedit, click Start/Run type in the Run box: regedit

To close the program, press Ctrl+Alt+Delete to bring up Task Manger and end the task for this program.

xania 15:38 26 Oct 2006

Also scan your entire PC for any reference to the program name and run msconfig to make sure there's no reference to it in there.

Technotiger 15:44 26 Oct 2006

Hi, also run RegScrub

click here

and/or perhaps a System Restore back to an earlier date - assuming you are using XP.

Cheers.

cwtherapy 15:52 26 Oct 2006

Thanks for the speedy replies.
I am unclear what the program is. If I look at applications in Windows task manager I see 'Micro Billing Systems Account Logon Microsoft Internet Explorer'. If I right click on this and 'go to process' IEXPLORE.EXE is highlighted in the processes window.
I have noticed and tried to stop two processes
mbsmon32.exe and mbsreg32.exe which had names made up of the initials of micro billing systems but they reappear/replicate.

xania 08:54 27 Oct 2006

for mbsmon32.exe

click here

click here

for mbsreg32.exe

click here

cwtherapy 14:57 30 Oct 2006

My computer wont start up in safe mode. Pressing f8 repeatedly during boot has no effect. Im running XP professional.

VoG II 14:59 30 Oct 2006
  cwtherapy 13:01 01 Nov 2006

Thanks to all but....