Unable to open attachments in Win 7 Live Mail

tallboy 09:44 15 Sep 2010

I'm sure there is a simple fix to this problem - if only I knew what it was. Something has changed the way Live Mail works on my Windows 7 PC. I am unable to open attachements from within the email message. (If I click on them I simply get a 'hoot' from the PC speaker.) If I save them to a folder they open fine.

Hopefully someone reading this knows how to fix it - please let me into the secret!

Thanks

Tallboy

birdface 10:32 15 Sep 2010

You need the EMI file probably transferred from your other e-mail account.
Its either EMI or EML file first one I think.
Not sure how you do it though.
Its easy enough to do using Incredimail but not sure about the others.

birdface 10:38 15 Sep 2010

Make sure it is set to the default mail handler see if that helps.

tallboy 15:21 15 Sep 2010

Not too sure which other e-mail account you are referring to buteman. I've been using Live Mail for the past 9 months and it's been working fine up to now.

Where do you set the mail handler? (I only have Live Mail installed)

Woolwell 18:02 15 Sep 2010

Possibly a security setting has changed as attachments could carry a virus. Which anti-virus program? Also is this with all attachments or just one file extension?

tallboy 19:49 15 Sep 2010

I use Kaspersky Internet Security 2011 for my AV and Firewall. Re attachments: So far I have found it does it with PDFs & MS Word docs.

Woolwell 21:36 15 Sep 2010

Do you get any messages when you try to open the attachments or just a sound?

tallboy 22:13 15 Sep 2010

No messages - just a 'hoot' from the speaker

Woolwell 22:56 15 Sep 2010

Kaspersky has an attachment filter as part of its mail anti-virus. I have Live Mail on my laptop and I'll fire it up tomorrow to see if there are any other settings.

Is this an Hotmail account?

kathleenp980 01:39 16 Sep 2010

Hello !
I am also a new member. Would a newcomer be warmly welcome here? Good day you guy !