Unable to connect laptops to Wireless network

buttonmoon 16:28 19 Nov 2007

Hi,

I have a Windows XP desktop and 2 laptops (xp) been having problems connecting the 2 laptops to my wireless network, they were connected but all of a sudden I get the message "limited or no connectivity" - the desktop that the wireless is connected through works fine and I am able to surf using that. Both laptops are wifi enabled and the network does appear in the "available list" but I am not able to connect to my own network.

I have never had this problem before and it only started last night. The wireless router is a belkin high speed mode wireless G router.

I have checked the Belkin router home page and neither of the laptops is appearing in the DHCP Client List - whereas they were before. I have tried to add my laptop's MAC address manually into the allowed computers list and that doesn't seems to have helped either.

Can someone help? - sorry about the mish mash of info I am new to this and therefore don't quite know what info maybe required.

All hints and tips gratefully appreciated.

thanks.

sunny staines 16:44 19 Nov 2007

have you tried to right click the wireless icon in the task bar then select "repair" to see if that helps. also the wifi slider on the laptop case is in the on position.

buttonmoon 16:48 19 Nov 2007

Hi,

I have tried to the "repair " option - it looks as if it will connect and then doesnt and the message "unable to renew IP address" comes up and then network disappears completely from the "available networks" page - if I refresh it comes up again but after spending ages trying to "aquire network address" message it goes back to showing a "limited or no connectivity" message

sunny staines 16:52 19 Nov 2007

i have had my fair share of laptop problems and as a last resort deleted the connection and set it up again from scratch which seemed to work.
also try with firewall turned off.

buttonmoon 16:57 19 Nov 2007