unable to access email on wireless laptop

gibfish26 22:09 27 Jan 2010

hi,i have just switched to wireless using a netgear DG834G V4 router.desktop is connected to router with ethernet cable and laptop has wireless built in,both are windows 7 and using windows live mail.i can access internet on both with no problems,but i cant access my email on my laptop,it is fine on my desktop.when i click on mail the mail page appears but when i click on inbox nothing happens,i have tried reseting username and password.any help would be appreciated,i am new to wireless.thanks.

Sea Urchin 23:48 27 Jan 2010

Which mail page is that?

gibfish26 08:51 28 Jan 2010

sea urchin it is the window that appears if i click on the mail envelope in top right tool bar or windows live mail in bottom left corner above the start icon.would this be my mail client page.it has inbox,sent items ,junk mail,feeds etc,down left side.hope this helps.thanks.

gibfish26

oldbeefer2 09:44 28 Jan 2010

Daft question, but have you set up the laptop to your live mail account (I assume this has to be done as it has with Outlook, which I use).

Woolwell 10:27 28 Jan 2010

If using POP e-mail you will need to set it to keep e-mails on the server otherwise the desktop will download and the laptop will not see all the e-mails (just the new ones) or vice versa.

gibfish26 10:41 28 Jan 2010

oldbeefer2,yes i have installed windows live mail and set up my account.
woolwell.yes i am using pop e-mail,i get mail downloaded to desktop no problem but i dont get anything at all on laptop,thanks

Woolwell 10:57 28 Jan 2010

Silly question but are you looking for e-mail on the laptop immediately after the desktop? If you haven't set it up to leave messages on the server then you will not see any on the laptop immediately.

gibfish26 13:55 28 Jan 2010