Ubuntu

dawnal 20:50 28 Feb 2007

Can anyone tell me where I can get a complete beginners guide to installing and using Ubuntu. I have looked on lots of websites but everything I've seen seems to assume knowledge I haven't got. I have no experience with any other OS than Windows and I am concerned that Ubuntu is a bit complicated for me.

Is it?

Does anyone know?

Thanks
shuggee

woodchip 21:00 28 Feb 2007

click here Go hear for a Live CD so you can try it without loading it. It runs from the CD after loading to Memory

dawnal 21:07 28 Feb 2007

Thanks for the response.

Sorry, I should have mentioned that I've downloaded the CD. I've read on several websites that you have to partition the hard drive to dual boot with Windows XP, which is what I want to do. None have given any instructions as to how to do this, however. I really nees an idiots guide for this as I am more curious than confident.

Appologies for my woefully incomplete previous post.

Thanks
shuggee

Rossi#1 21:42 28 Feb 2007

click here

You'll get all the info needed from those links, including graphical walk throughs. I hope you stuck with with the 32-bit version because the 64-bit doesnt work too well yet.

woodchip 21:49 28 Feb 2007

Have you tried the CD version?

dawnal 22:11 28 Feb 2007

Thanks for the responses. I followed the link and I did find the information I was looking for.

I'm still not confident, however so I wouuld like something to back up the entire contents of my hard drive so I can return the computer to where it was before installing Ubuntu with no loss of data.

Does such a thing exist?

The version I downloaded was 6.10. Is this the best one? I hope it is, it took ages to download.

Thanks
shuggee

Trackrat 23:56 28 Feb 2007

If you burn the ISO to disk and set the BIOS to boot from CD/DVD then run the cd as live(not install) you can then get a feel for it and see if all your hardware works with it.