two dvd drives, which one should be the 'master'

mec13 23:11 05 Sep 2005

Operating system is xphome/sp2 etc, which has two cd/dvd drives. one is just a player, the other is a recorder/player. The one mostly used is the cd/dvd player(slave) for games etc. The other recorder/player drive(master) is rarely used at all.

Could the ordinary cd/dvd player drive be the master instead, as this is the one that is used the most(gaming etc).

Obviously my reason for asking this is to improve gaming quality, as some of the later games have to be 'toned down a bit' on my machine.

the Absolute Beginners forum gives a hint of my computer knowledge, but my mates at the local pub have told me something about 'jumpers' and between us we have come to this conclusion.

I would rather ask you experts, than listen to 'beer talk' for the correct way to go, if any.

LastChip 00:09 06 Sep 2005

What your mates are talking about is the ability to select which drive is Master, IF it's on the same channel. The same channel means, connected to the same data cable.

Whether this is the case or not, remains to be seen and the easiest way to find out is to look inside the case. If you're quick and you have a conventional boot-up screen, you can sometimes see it there too, if you know what you're looking for.

On the back of each drive, is a series of little pins in sets of two. A jumper, is simply a tiny plastic block with a metal connector inside. By placing a jumper over one of these sets of pins, the jumper makes a connection, turns it on if you like - just like a switch.

Placed on the case of the drive,is a legend that tells you which of the pins to connect, in order to make a drive Master or Slave (there are other options too, but let's not confuse the issue).

Conventionally, the Master drive connects to the end of the data cable and the Slave drive to the centre connection. The other data cable end connector, plugs into the motherboard.