TV aerial via mains wiring?

Graham. 09:51 22 Dec 2010

The TV in the conservatory doesn't get a strong enough signal to pick up digital Freeview. It was OK on analogue. Does the aerial cable round the outside of the house need upgrading for digital?

If the signal could be transmitted by mains wiring that would be a preferred solution. Any suggestions, please?

lotvic 09:59 22 Dec 2010

More detail needed.
What is your present Freeview setup?
Aerial to freeview box to main tv in main house then to ? etc. etc.
or is the one in conservatory completely separate freeview box with own aerial?

Also it depends on where you live for strength of digital signal.

Lots of factors to consider.

I've no knowledge of being able or not of using main wiring but doesn't sound right to me.

tullie 10:00 22 Dec 2010

Theres no such thing as a digital aerial,the one you have may just need replacing on your roof.

Graham. 10:37 22 Dec 2010

The aerial works perfectly on the main TV. It links into a Sky box first to provide a splitter. From the Sky box, cables go to the main TV and round the house to the conservatory.

If I bypass the Sky box and connect the incoming aerial to the outgoing cable it is no better. Which leads me to think I will need to replace the cable round the house.

lotvic 11:32 22 Dec 2010

Have you tried remaking the connections on each end of the aerial cable to conservatory? It does sound as if it is that cable that is letting you down. Or perhaps because you have split the signal you may need a booster.

Woolwell 11:33 22 Dec 2010

A booster to the conservatory may solve the problem.

tigertop2 12:18 22 Dec 2010

I have used an SLx TV signal amp. model for 2 years now. Here is a link.
click here
I don't know anything about this sales outlet but the SLx models seem pretty good amplifiers

robin_x 12:54 22 Dec 2010

It's weak signal for whatever reason.
Unlikely to be the coax cable itself.