Trying to replace contents of domain with newbuild

Diemmess 11:16 10 Jul 2006

I am a complete novice in web matters.
In at the deep end taking over a running website from a man who is difficult to contact or provide help. (He's on holiday anyway at present.)

He apparently used Front Page I have used NOF and have a new site published locally and attempted to publish on the domain.

Anxious not to spoil the previous site "namepc" until the new one is OK, I called mine "namex".
Used the host to do a full backup as it was at this stage, to my own computer.

All my files appear in the host (www)list.
Now I'm stuck.
Had a "fun day" yesterday trying to upload my stuff instead of the original. Used the host's support email and livechat. I think they barely disguised "What a Wally" and ignored later attempts for enlightenment.

They recommended to delete public_html then Upload Files.
Easier said than done!
Created a new public_html and on clicking Upload Files am presented with a table of items to browse..... what do I choose?

A new day and a fresh approach.....
The old website remains and seems functional.

Back to NOF, I have saved 'namex' as 'namepc', published it locally, and find it runs as it should.
What now?
Do I try to publish to the host using 'namepc', and expect to overwrite the 'namepc' already there?
If or when I come to Upload Files, how?
"It can't be that difficult! Is it me, a slow learner?"

barryoneoff.co.uk 12:31 10 Jul 2006

but it's not adviseable. It may leave folders lying about that have slightly different names, and this will confuse you even more.

If I were you I would download a free FTP client such as Filezilla or SmartFTP and delete everything that you have up there. Then upload the new site.

If you are a bit nervous, you can always use the FTP to download the existing site to your hard drive until you are certain the other one is OK.

Good luck, Whiz....

Diemmess 12:47 10 Jul 2006