Trojan.killav. Is it really there?

compumac 13:11 14 Mar 2007

I have never knowingly had a virus. I have been using Norton Antivirus for many years and scanning has never discovered a virus. Also I have been running AdAware, A2 Squared and Counterspy. I have been using AVG Antispyware V7.5 for perhaps a week or two and today it advised that Trojan.killav was present in C:\Windows\1386\mmsetup.cab/msmgsin.exe. I did not delete it when AVG found it but ran Norton Antivirus to see if it would find it. It did not. Neither have any of the other antispyware programmes discovered it. I tried to delete it from AVG and a dialogue box came up “it cannot be removed because it is embodied in the archive C:\Windows\1386\mmsetup.cab. Do you want to remove the whole archive?

Any advice welcome.

ArrGee 13:15 14 Mar 2007

click here

I hope this is of help for removal.

It is a trojan that attempts to delete Anti-Virus applications.

compumac 13:38 14 Mar 2007

Thanks for prompt reply. Yes I had already seen that but I do not understand as to why Norton had not picked it up and neither has any other antispyware. I am wondering as to whether it is one of these false positives that one hears about.

compumac 17:04 14 Mar 2007

Should have been msmsgsin.exe.

ArrGee 19:04 14 Mar 2007

You may as well get rid of it with the link in my first post.

Some AVs work well with some trojans/spyware/viruses/worm etc, but there is no AV application that will spot them all or provide a means to rid them. That is why most of the larger AV providers will post a response to a threat with removal porcesses on their sites, as Symantec have done.

compumac 19:33 14 Mar 2007

The problem is that Norton does not detect it in its scan and therefore cannot delete what it cannot find. This is with Norton Antivirus uptodate.

Coff 19:51 14 Mar 2007

It's a false positive which has been corrected with the latest definitions update.

compumac 20:09 14 Mar 2007