Touchscreens

morddwyd 17:05 17 Dec 2009

Increasingly troubled by arthritic fingers, I have been casting a speculative eye over touchscreen laptops.

Opinions, please?

I know about the obvious problems like keeping clean and the cost of replacement, but if anyone can answer from a position of actual knowledge or experience I'd be grateful

rawprawn 17:42 17 Dec 2009

I have RA, but fortunately can control it with drugs, I have no experience but I wonder if something like this may help?
click here
I cannot really see great advantage in touchscreen, but I have never used one and maybe somoene else may give guidance
Good Luck and have a nice Christmas

Woolwell 17:51 17 Dec 2009

Not a direct answer but have you considered a trackball or specially designed mouse.

Woolwell 17:52 17 Dec 2009

Overtaken by rawprawn.

Curio 18:51 17 Dec 2009

I used Touchscreen monitors at work. All operators were issued with pencils with eraser attached and we used the eraser end to navigate the screen. I appreciate you have arthritic fingers but it may just be a way round your problem.

morddwyd 20:06 17 Dec 2009

Thanks for the responses.

Use a trackball for the PC but not really a practical proposition for the laptop which gets moved around the house.

My thinking was by the way of being able to touch the screen with a knuckle when I can't straighten my hand/fingers.

Large icons, large on screen keyboard and accessibility software should help.

Technotiger 20:18 17 Dec 2009

Have you looked at the Accessibility options in Windows - Start>All Programs>Accessories>Accessibility ....

Woolwell 21:50 17 Dec 2009

Windows comes with voice recognition software so that you can control your laptop by voice. I'm not sure how good it is.

morddwyd 05:18 18 Dec 2009

Thanks.

I have no problems finding options to use my laptop, I was just looking for opinions on touchscreens as one of them.

BT 07:57 18 Dec 2009