Thunderbird

Astrid 17:31 25 Oct 2008

I run Windows XP SP3, and use Thunderbird for email. A few hours ago I left the room and when I returned and went to access my email, everything, all folders and months of mail had disappeared. I had to configure all over again and start from scratch with no folders. I know that somewhere on my hard disk are the folders and the mails, but can't recall where. Also, is there any good reason why I should trust Thunderbird not to do this again any time? Has anyone had this happen, either in the past or recently?

DieSse 17:52 25 Oct 2008

I've been using Thunderbird for around two years now (at least) - and it's always behaved perfectly for me.

Mail should be in

C:\Documents and Settings\*****\Application Data\Thunderbird\Profiles\gl8pw2ic.default\Mail\Local Folders

where g18pw2ic will be different for you and ***** will be your windows account name

The Kestrel 20:48 25 Oct 2008

I too have used Thunderbird for around two years without any problems. I much prefer it to Outlook/Outlook Express.

PalaeoBill 21:05 25 Oct 2008

Me too. I've been a happy Thunderbird user for a couple of years or so. I switched because of corruption problems in Outlook.
I have no idea what occurred but I strongly encourage you to install MozBackup
click here
and use it regularly. It will save your mail, folders, account details and even plugins.

PalaeoBill 21:10 25 Oct 2008

Just to add. I have not had cause to restore from a MozBackup, but I have restored onto a clean PC just to prove to myself that the backup worked. It did, account settings, passwords and all.

bretsky 09:16 26 Oct 2008

I too have used this email client for years and only had one occasion where all my emails in the sent folder strangely disappeared, I found that this click here cured the problem.

Use MozBackup to do regular backups to my other HDD, updates seamlessly, excellent calender extn, a very good solid program.

bretsky ;0)

Astrid 09:27 26 Oct 2008