TFT Monitors - input please.

Bodi 09:36 24 Aug 2003

I would be most grateful if those with TFT screens would give me their thoughts on the make, model etc. of what they have.

The wide variety of prices and models (I would like something in the region of 17")is quite confusing. Hearing first hand experiences would be most appreciated.

Bodi

I have a 17in Sharp TFT which I am very happy with. It has incorporated speakers although I dont use them. I chose Sharp because we have a Sharp TV, video player and DVD player all of which have been trouble free and excellent products.

Smiler 10:12 24 Aug 2003

I have a Samsung SyncMaster 171s and it is brilliant good resolution auto setup if necessary or manual tweaking. Comes with pivot ware wich means you can rotate the screen which is useful for portrait A4 work at full scale. Chose Samsung because my last two crt monitors were Samsung and never faultered plus it comes with a three year warranty.

krypt1c 10:17 24 Aug 2003

This thread is about pros / cons of tft
click here

Bodi 10:26 24 Aug 2003

I should mention that the main reason for changing to a TFT screen is that my CTX PR960F monitor is too heavy for me to move - although the picture quality is v. good.

I am also looking for a TFT screen with a USB hub.

krypt1c: It isn't so much the pros & cons of TFT I'm interested in, more the personal experience of users. What sort of difficulties (if any) they experienced etc. I am going to get one, but which one? - Thank you for the link.

Bodi

Rayuk 11:42 24 Aug 2003

click here
Dont have one just came across the review,

Djohn 17:21 24 Aug 2003

Hi Bodi, I'm using a 17"TFT from AOC, made the change about 4 months back from a good quality 19"CTX, not regretted one moment of it, My 19" was refreshing at 101hz, but still my eyes would start to get tired after an hour or so, now I can use for as long as I wish, Did one session over 4 hours, no fatigue at all. j.

powerless 17:39 24 Aug 2003