Talk Talk Internet via NetGear DG834 problems

eyedeeuk 11:40 07 Nov 2006

Hey,

I'm pretty new to setting up a networks - even a simple one, but it seems pretty straight forward yet this problems got me stumped... I just purchased a Netgear DG834 ADSL Firewall Router with 4 port 10/100 Switch. I'm using it to connect both my Apple Mac (non-intel G5) and my PC to the internet which I am getting from talk talk (free broadband package). My talk talk internet went live on the weekend, so I plugged in the router, and followed the Net Gear CD's setup instructions. That's where the problems began. I connected the ADSL filter in front of the modem cable going into the Router, and the router wouldnt recognise an internet connection. When I disconnect the filter, the router finds a connection immediately. The ADSL filter is a dual (modem and tel output) one but I am only using the upstairs extension telephone line for broadband. I'm currently having to connect to the internet via the router without an ADSL filter installed.

Anyhow, after 3 attempts at installing the CD setup software, it finally installed correctly, but the internet connection I am receiving is painfully slow (5 mins to load up a page) and the router intermitently refuses to find random web pages. I have accessed the Net Gear routers administration info by opening up Internet Explorer and typing in the IP address, but all the descriptions seem to say it's working a-ok. Ive tried connecting new ethernet cables and modem cables but it's still just as slow. I've also gone to Internet Tools within Internet Explorer, Connections, LAN connection and tried turning the "auctomically detect proxy settings" option on and off, but it's nearly as slow either way - it's a little faster accessing some web pages with the auto setting turned off.

Has anyone else experienced this problem or could anyone offer advice on how to sort it out?

Thanks for taking the time to read this.

Cheers

[email protected]