Stuck at Acquiring Network Address/SP2

Shatter25 17:54 24 Jul 2006

I am having a problem with Internet on 1 computer at home. We recently got Cable Internet and have 3 computers wired to a Linksys router(not wireless), all 3 have Windows XP Home. 2 work great, the third keeps sticking at acquiring network address(IP 0.0.0.0), even when I disconnect it from the router and plug in the modem straight to it. I read a thread here about someone who had a similar problem, but heres what I found. After trying alot of things like a new network card, changing settings, mechanically everything is fine. So after a week of trying I re-installed Windows XP and the internet worked great. The minute I installed SP2, it went straight back to acquiring. So to test that I did a system restore to before I put SP2 on and again it worked, so again I installed SP2...back to acquiring network address. Now I found a patch on the Microsoft website for SP2 issues, tried that and no fix. I am new to having a router(we used to use a switch), maybe someone can walk me through disabling this computer from trying to acquire an IP and how to assign a manual IP, default gateway, etc correctly. I did try and do this before I did the re-install but I don't think I did it correctly because it did not work. Any help is appreciated.

FelixTCat 18:45 24 Jul 2006

Do you have a firewall on the troublesome computer?

The firewall built into SP2 is functionally different from that previously. Try to set it to allow contact with your router's address.

Regards,

Felix

Shatter25 18:58 24 Jul 2006

The only firewall present is the only with SP2 whichi I turned off. How do you set it to allow contact with the router?

mgmcc 20:34 24 Jul 2006

A firewall shouldn't prevent a network adapter from getting its IP address from a DHCP server. More likely, I suspect, is an incompatibility between your particular network adapter hardware and SP2.