Streaming video (if that is the phrase I want)

Christopher Lewis 17:08 19 Apr 2005

Hi
I'm a newbie as far this technology goes, so I hope I've got the right language. I have a camera in a bird box, and software that monitors it and creates JPEG stills, and .AVI movies. I plan to build a simple website, with links to these files so people can look at them.

Is there a simple way I can show the output from the camera live, as it happens? Am I right in thinking this is called 'streaming video'? There seem to be sites where I can download some software and so get the video hosted. Are these sites any good, trustworthy etc? I'd like a family friendly site if possible. Any suggestions?

Or are there better ways?

I have Windows XP Home and a broadband cable connection.

Hoping for some advice
Christopher

number21online 18:31 21 Apr 2005

First of all, I like your idea. Have a look at other sites to see what they have done, some use Java others Windows media or Real players the choice is yours, click here animals page has a good selection of this type of site. I chose to use Windows media on my site but as I say the choice is yours but here is how I did it.