Hi

Dell Dimension 5150
Pentium D 820 DualCore 2.8Ghz
80.00Gb 7200 rpm SATA HD
2GB Mem
AVG Free
Windows XP
Firefox

Son last used machine normally on Tuesday 27 July. Logged in today. Accessed internet. Installed Google Chrome. Played computer game from C: drive. Accessed internet. Turned off machine. Restarted machine. Logged in. BSOD. Error message: STOP: c000021a {Fatal System Error}
The Windows Logon Process system process terminated unexpectedly with a status of 0x00000000 (0×00000000 0×00000000).
The system has been shut down.

Tried rebooting in safe mode, removing Google Chrome, and everything seems fine but when log on again get same BSOD

Tried System Restore but no restore points present other than one set after the BSOD

Tried chkdsk but nothing obvious - I'm not a computer expert so not sure what I was looking for to be honest

Tried MSCONFIG and ran in Diagnostic mode, completed that and then rebooted computer but got BSOD again

Ran CCleaner

Currently running virus scan in safe mode

Can anyone help please?

PiP

VOT Productions 20:36 08 Aug 2010

click here;en-us;156669

Google it!

VOT Productions 20:38 08 Aug 2010

Last known good configuration
If the previous steps in this article do not resolve the problem, start the computer by using the last known good configuration. To start the computer by using the last known good configuration, follow these steps:Note Because there are several versions of Microsoft Windows, the following steps may be different on your computer. If they are, see your product documentation to complete these steps.
Click Start, and then click Shut Down.
Click Restart, and then click OK.
Press F8 at the indicated time:
For an x86-based computer: When a screen of text appears and then disappears , press F8. (The screen of text may include a memory test, lines about the BIOS, and other lines.) There may also be a prompt that tells you when to press F8.