Static Wrist Strap - Where To Fasten

DN14 13:58 16 Jul 2003

This may seen a daft question but I am new to exchanging PC components and as per magazine advice I have purchased a static wrist strap. The magazine said follow the instructions that come with the strap when using it. However, the strap does not have any instructions without. The question I would like to ask is how do I use it, I guess it needs connecting to something that is earthed such as the central heating system. The question is do you clip it to the painted part of a radiator or the bare metal of the supply pipe??

jimv7 14:03 16 Jul 2003

To your wrist and the metal body of your computer, after making sure you have earthed yourself by touching the radiator, or leave the mains plug in the computer making sure that it is 'TURNED OFF' and touch the metal body.

graham√ 14:12 16 Jul 2003

Oh, don't start all this again! DON'T leave the mains plug in unless you are an electrician and you connected the earth system in your house yourself! Otherwise you don't know what it's connected to (the radiator? a live wire?)

Apart from that, as jimv7.

BillEmm 14:42 16 Jul 2003

but I'm going to repeat it - in memory of a young engineer who is no longer with us who, unbeknown to himself, had a poorly insulated, mains connected, instrument in one hand while he rested his other hand on a radiator. Well, he is resting now OK!

The earth strap must only be connected to the PC 'chassis' earth. It is important that the body is at the same potential as the PC chassis - not the house or any other earth.

Connect the strap to a suitable metalic point on the PSU or case and lay both hands on the power supply area for several seconds to 'noramlise' the body with the PC chassis.

Another word of caution: if you don't know what you are doing then get a professional to do it.

Diemmess 16:32 16 Jul 2003

Sound electrical sense in these postings.............just a crumb of comfort to add.........