Splitting a broadband connection between two p.c's

I have recently got a broadband connection in my house, and i want to share the connection between two computers. the modem is a cable modem with a co-ax like wire coing into it and a usb connection to the computer. the only thing is the other p.c is on the second floor of my house about 15 meters from the downstairs braodband modem. I have tried a network card in each computer and conneting them with a cat 5 cable but the computer upstairs (a hp pavillions) does not have the necessary WOL plug on the motherboard to use a network card, my downstairs p.c (a home made one) however does.

can anyone suggest an easy to run system that will let both computers access to the broadband modem but being a student i only have a meger budjet to spend.

any help would be much appriciated

thanks
richard rayment

Forum Editor 23:40 26 Nov 2003

WOL (Wake ON LAN) comes into this - all you need in the HP Pavilion is a spare PCI slot for a Network Interface Card. Connect the two machines with Ethernet cable and run the Internet connection sharing wizard. There should be no problems, but you'll need to leave the Internet-connected machine running whenever you use the second machine.

billyliv 00:20 27 Nov 2003

Hi, You say your modem is a cable modem, so we can assume you have cable broadband, ie. NTL.
If you are on NTL broadband are you sure that your modem doesn't have an 'Ethernet connection'.
Post back quickly. cheers, Bill

DieSse 00:22 27 Nov 2003

Also note that the lan cable need to be wired as a "crossover" cable when connecting directly from one system to another.

Qmar 05:01 27 Nov 2003

see this thread ref-DieSse Mon, 25.08.03 22:45

click here

1. yes the modem does have an ethernet connection.