Sound from only 1 Speaker (Realtek HD Audio)

warspite014 22:33 29 Jun 2008

Hello all, I am a newbie in this here forum but would sure appreciate some help. I have acer aspire PC (Vista) with Realtek HD Audio card. I have the cheapest pair of stereo speakers I could find plugged in to the line out (lime green jack) on the rear of the PC. When I play audio files all sound comes from just one speaker.. thought that perhaps speakers were just rubbish but then i had the same problem when i sent the sound via a Kenwood sound system.. ie all sound from one speaker.. I have tried numerous things to get sound from t'other speaker but no joy thus far!

I happened to download BBC iPlayer today (as I had missed Dr Who last night!) and when I watched Dr Who earlier I got sound from both speakers!!

Hoorah! I cried... but sadly I still have the problem.. when I play audio from say iTunes or from saved MP3's all sound from just the 1 speaker but I get sound through both when watching iPlayer downloads!

Have i waffled a little too much?

If anybody has read this far I would appreciate any help that anyone can offer.

Kind Regards x

woodchip 22:38 29 Jun 2008

If you are getting sound from one speaker its most likely a Hardware Problem. Could be anything from a dud Speaker to a bad connection in the Jack plug that shoves in the back of the computer etc

woodchip 22:40 29 Jun 2008

Could also be a faulty stereo socket at the back what you plug into. Or a Channel on the card as gone down

chub_tor 22:43 29 Jun 2008

If you get sound from both speakers with iplayer then it is not a speaker problem. Could be balance - try going into the Mixer and see if slider is in the middle. Could be that you have it set to Mono instead of Stereo and that might be a function of which player you are using at the time. Go to Control Panel, Sound settings and have a play around. It must be a setting somewhere.

woodchip 22:50 29 Jun 2008