Some Files I want to uninstall

allclear 01:07 17 Oct 2008

Hello All,

I wonder if you can help please as I am not too good with techo stuff.

I had alot of rubbish & virus on my pc so had to professionally removed by a hard disc reformat.

The company has backed up my previous files but there are some files I want to delete without leaving any traces in the registry. Previously I have deleted files but that left some traces of the files in the registry. Can someone please recommened how best to go about achieving this please?

Thanks

Belatucadrus 01:23 17 Oct 2008

What sort of files are you talking about as usually documents and files don't affect the registry, programs do.

Technotiger 08:59 17 Oct 2008

Install this free program click here

Under the Modules tab you will find a very effective File Shredder.

A very useful program to have in any case - the One-click Maintenance is grreat.

allclear 12:25 17 Oct 2008

Thanks Technotiger,

I have, in the past, installaed free programs but have also encountered virus and other problems. I am tempted to try downloading this softwrae you have suggested but wondering how safe is it? as not many retail outlets would provide free software. Please let me know if you or anyone has tried out this software.

Thnaks

provider 2 13:01 17 Oct 2008

I`ve not tried Technotiger`s suggested utility but I use this one (RevoUninstaller) which is freeware and is a tried and trusted program, much recommended here.

Several useful functions are included and there is plenty of instuctional material available on the site including FAQs:

click here

Technotiger 13:51 17 Oct 2008

I have been using Glary Utilities for ages, every week, it is totally safe!

I also use Rev Uninstaller as per provider 2's link, it too is grrreat!

allclear 15:23 17 Oct 2008

Thanks Technotiger,