SO SLOW ..........................................

MOKES 11:53 17 Jul 2006

I AM A RELATIVE NOVICE WHEN IT COMES TO COMPUTERS, HOWEVER EVEN I KNOW THAT MY COMPUTER IS SO SLOW WHEN IT IS SWITHCED ON. IT TAKES AGES FOR IT TO BOOT UP AND IT'S DRIVING ME MAD.
WHAT CAN I DO ??
ANY IDEAS ??

nob14 11:54 17 Jul 2006

start then RUN MSCONFIG, in the startup tab close all things you don't need starting with windows.

Jackcoms 12:03 17 Jul 2006

This will help you decide what should and what should not run at startup click here

Also clean out all the crap with click here and defrag the HDD.

When did you last run full AV and anti-malware scans?

terryf 12:17 17 Jul 2006

FYI
If you use all caps, it is considered to be shouting and may be considered to be rude.

wee eddie 16:29 17 Jul 2006

How long does it take, in minutes and seconds, from pushing the button to Windows being available for use?

A long time or ages is not a suitable answer, as us knowing how long your PC takes to boot, can give an idea of what might be happening.

wee eddie 12:45 18 Jul 2006

Thanks for your mail; I have included your text below as most of these threads are followed by others who are interested but do not necessarily wish to post.

"After timing it last night, it took 2 mins 45 secs. Any ideas??"

I have just done the same test. I run NIS and it gives me a pop-up saying when everything is loaded. Here are my results.

Full Desktop visible: 1 min 20sec

Egg timer icon finished: 1min 50sec.

NIS - All programs loaded screen: 2min 45secs.

So your figure is not that unusual.

If you wish to reduce it a little Get a pencil & Paper to note down what you have done as unremembered errors can cause "mucho heartache" > Make a System Restore Point > type msconfig into the Run Box > view the Start-up and the Services Tabs > un-tick a couple, no more, of the least essential items (often from programs that you may no longer use) and Close msconfig.