Slowing PC

happyhotspur 10:41 19 Aug 2007

My PC is only 6 months old and I have been running Vista Home Premium for 4 months but just recently I am getting some strange problems first I lost my home page, the PC doesn't poer off even though the poer of button is set to power off and not sleep, it is very slow when switching on and quite often it just freezes.

I have run defrag several times one from IQbit and windows own, I have also run eusing reg cleaner and AVC anti virus none have found a problem, but still I get these problems.

Should I just re format the Hard drive and reload windows first with XP then my Vista upgrade

help please I'm, pulling my hair out and I don't have much left

birdface 11:00 19 Aug 2007

Can you do a system restore to a time before you had the problems.Or try in safe mode and click on Last good configuration.See if any of those two help.

happyhotspur 11:09 19 Aug 2007

Tried that but it seems the system restore is blank which is a bit strange as I have never notice it not working before. Yet the box is ticked next to local disc C but no restore points. It appears that even after installing updates there is no system restore points being created.

birdface 11:42 19 Aug 2007

Might be different if my box is ticked it would turn off system restore.I right click my computer,properties. System restore,And if I wanted to turn off system restore I have to tick the square.So it is unticked.The only other thing that will stop it is your Internet security,I know it is a bit of a problem with Norton,And you have to turn Norton of to get to restore points.

happyhotspur 11:56 19 Aug 2007

Thanks but have not got Nortons using AVG free and have used it for years with no problems and its now Vista compatable.

Not sure what to do now

birdface 17:38 19 Aug 2007