shared files, no longer in use-definition.

  Dave123 08:35 10 Apr 2003
Locked

I recetly put a tutorial program on my PC which was not very good and uninstalled it. It gave me the option "there are shared files no longer in use, remove?", so Idid. Every time i booted up after this i got messages saying certain files were linked to other filed which were no longer in use. Everything still seemed to work ok though. Last night I installed IBM via voice 7 (fee with the magazine). During installation there was a message saying it had detected some files were missing and was putting them back. When I boot up I don't get the files missing messages.

Question 1 - when does a file/program become "no longer in use", what is the definition of a file no longer in use ?
Question 2 Did via voice have a copy of on the Cd, I was quite impressed, is this standard proctice?

This thread is now locked and can not be replied to.

Elsewhere on IDG sites

Best phone camera 2017

Stunning new film posters by Hattie Stewart, Joe Cruz & more

iPad Pro 10.5in (2017) review

28 astuces pour profiter au mieux de votre iPhone