Setting up your Wireless - Help please

Ritchbee 18:02 19 Jul 2008

Hi Guys,

Now I am a real novice so I apologise if I don't make much sense. I have read the instructions from both Sky and Linksys but still not quite sure.

I've decided to change over from NTL to Sky broadband. They have sent me a modem which I have to plug into my telephone socket etc.

Currently I have an NTL modem which has a cable that runs from the front door through the living room to where the PC resides.

As the phone socket is near the front door which is a little way from the PC I therefore want to use a Linksys Broadband router to get the signal there. (Does this have to be placed near or next to the modem?)

What I can't understand is how the PC picks the signal up.....if you get my meaning. I have a USB network Adapter do I use this plugged into the PC?

Can I the line that goes into my Sky+ box be used for the router as that would be closer to the PC.

Cheers
Brian

tullie 18:40 19 Jul 2008

The Sky installation cd tells you exactly what you have to do,i assume you have this?

iqs 21:04 19 Jul 2008

If I understand your thread correctly,(Does this have to be placed near or next to the modem?),you don't use the modem,just the router.The router should be a Modem/Router.

My mother is on SKY BB,she was supplied a Netgear modem/router.

Once you have installed the Router,you would install the adapter software to connect to the router.

Are you trying to connect the PC to the router as well as the USB adapter???

Forum Editor 19:23 20 Jul 2008

Connect the router to the incoming telephone socket and then use the supplied ethernet cable to connect the router to your PC. This is a temporary connection to enable you to set up the router according to the instructions that came with it.