Setting up my own connection within a houseshare?

Callum-1623688 17:02 05 Oct 2010

So I'm a student now and I'm renting a room off a family and several other students are too. The problem lies within internet use.

I'm on the fourth floor myself and the Wireless router is on the ground floor. Naturally the connection is horrific and drops all the time.

What I need is advice on how I can get a decent connection for myself without treading on the toes of the family. The router and connection is not mine and I do not want to come marching down to their area of the house demanding they move their router and set up X, Y and Z to suit me.

Are there any other methods I can take to try and improve the connection in my own room.

I have myself my own Router and even a BT Phone line in my room. I had thought it would be as simple a matter of plugging my router in here but it was not the case unfortunately. Can I connect my Router wirelessly to theirs and then connect my PC and Xbox to my Router either wirelessly or with Ethernet cables? Is there any other device I should think about purchasing to give me a solid network or connection in my room?

I'm embarassingly Un-Techy and know very little about any of the information I would need to give for anyone to be able to give me any decent advice so it is probably the best policy for people to just ask me whatever they need to know before they can help me and I'll try to find out.

Thanks in advance for any help. Would be much appreciated.

Nontek 18:01 05 Oct 2010

By connecting to your 'Landlords' Router, you would be committed to using their ISP - you have a BT Line and a Router, so if you get your own ISP (maybe even on a Monthly pay system) I would think you should then be fine.

onthelimit 18:07 05 Oct 2010

same thread opened on Networking

karmgord 18:54 05 Oct 2010

network over the ring mains.

Callum-1623688 19:06 05 Oct 2010