Setting Up A Home Network

dumb_haddik 17:41 17 Mar 2006

I AM NOT EXACTLY A BEGINNER, BUT I AM NEW TO THE NETWORKING TECHNOLOGY.

HOW WOULD I GO ABOUT CONNECTING TWO READY SET UP PCs IN SEPERATE ROOMS? WIRLESSLY?

PS I AM ON A BUDGET IS £30 ENOUGH

dumb_haddik 17:56 17 Mar 2006

WHEN I GO TO COMPUTER FAIRS, I SEE THINGS LIKE USB NETWORK ADAPTERS, OR BLUE TOOTH .

DO I JUST NEED TWO OF THESE TO NETWORK, OR SOMETHING DIFFERENT

dumb_haddik 17:57 17 Mar 2006

DOES WINDOWS XP SP2 SUPPORT SOME KIND OF THING WHERE THERE IS A FOLDER SHARED OVER MANY COMPUTERS ie. SHARED DOCUMENTS, BUT CAN BE ACCESSED ON EITHER OF THE PCs.

AND IS REMOTE ACCESS AVAILABLE FOR NETWORKS OF ONLY 2 PCs.

The Kestrel 18:00 17 Mar 2006

What type of modem do you have? If it is of the USB type, you will need to buy a combined wireless modem/router, which will cost more than your £30 budget. If your PCs have wireless cards fitted, that is all you should need. If not you will also need either wireless USB adapters or PCI cards for each PC.

dumb_haddik 18:02 17 Mar 2006

NEITHER OF THE PCs I AM WISHING TO NETWORK REQUIRE INTERNET ACCESS, AND NOR DO THEY HAVE A MODEM, I AM ONLY REALLY INTERESTED IN REMOTE ACCESS AND FILE SHARING.

dumb_haddik 18:04 17 Mar 2006

PLEASE CAN YOU HELP?

I DONT KNOW EXACTLY WHAT I NEED FROM YOUR DESCRIPTION, SORRY, IS IT FOR A NON INTERNET PC:

MODEM/ROUTER
USB/PCI CARDS

(FOR BOTH COMPUTERS?)

dumb_haddik 18:20 17 Mar 2006

The Kestrel 18:38 17 Mar 2006

Go this link click here and read through the beginners guide on setting up a network at home. It should give you some idea of how to achieve your aims.

Danoh 18:58 17 Mar 2006

Please refrain from using ALL UPPER CASE letters. It is the equivalent of SHOUTING and considered rude, at best, in online forums.
Thank you.

dumb_haddik 15:58 18 Mar 2006

sorry

Smegs 12:47 20 Mar 2006

click here Have a look at this 5 port Modem/Router.

We have been using one of these makes for about a year now, no problems.