Scart down to small monitor link

Nancyoncannon 11:45 10 Sep 2009

I am a total novice. I have purchased a Geddes Reader. To link it to my monitor I need a wire with a scart female plug at one end and the small (I think they are called d-link socket) which would plug into my monitor.

If you understand what I mean can you please suggest a proper name for this connector and where I could purchase one.

I look forward to hearing from you.

PS a Geddes Reader is a small device which assists the partially blind to read documents on a monitor.

Stuartli 11:51 10 Sep 2009

I presume you mean something on these lines:

click here

Nancyoncannon 12:02 10 Sep 2009

Well similar but that one looks as though the scart is the male.

Perhaps if I explain a bit more the Reader has a yellow male plug on the end. This plugs into a terminal block/adaptor with a scart male socket on one side and yellow output socket and white and red input sockets on the other. Because I cannot connect the terminal block direct to the monitor I have tried to plug the yellow plug into the little yellow inlet on the back of the monitor but it is too fat.

Is it possible to get a convertor to reduce the size of the yellow male so that it fits into the monitor direct. There is no sound involved.

Or must I have a small monitor connector to the terminal block/adaptor.

Nancyoncannon 12:20 10 Sep 2009

Nudge

Technotiger 12:42 10 Sep 2009

Something like this any good?

click here"

Technotiger 12:45 10 Sep 2009

Or more probably, this ...

click here

Technotiger 12:50 10 Sep 2009
  BRYNIT 13:00 10 Sep 2009

I've had a quick search of the web to find out what the Geddes Reader is and how it connects.

Conclusion. It is a camera similar to a CCTV camera mounted on an arm above a table allowing the print to be shown on a TV via a scart connection.

If I am correct and you are trying to connect the Scart to the D-sub input link of a computer monitor I don't think it will work.

Stuartli 13:50 10 Sep 2009